Event- Insomnia 54

Hello everyone, sorry for not posting for a while now, I have been so busy with University work and attending I54 Series. I was accepted as a volunteer photographer for Insomnia 54 Gaming Festival last week where not only have I met old friends and new people but I also enjoyed my time behind scenes and working my way through the crowd of people eager to see Youtubers talking about their favorite games, LAN players and online games tournament contestants.

It was lovely to work with the content team from Insomnia and I am looking forward to seeing them again. I learnt new things about Adobe Lightroom, the software which I find myself using more and more each day and I had the amazing opportunity of using new lenses and trying new angles out. I will now let my photos do the talking.


Thursday was the opening day where mostly LAN players came over to set up their computers, sort their accommodation out and meet up with each other. While my friend was working at the check-in desk I was running around trying to shoot the excitement that could be seen on everyone’s faces despite the bad weather outside. Some of my friends have been part of the check-in team and I loved the way they were so organized, keeping everything fast and clear, making both their life and the visitors’ life easier. During a break I was talking to my friend about how it is to work in the check-in team and he said although it is tiring, it’s interesting to see the different types of people that come for the event; from teenagers to fathers with their children.

i54-8444 i54-8450 i54-8474 i54-8479 i54-8543 i54-8553 On Friday the Exhibition Hall opened up and I was able to take photos of tournaments and stands. Once again, I had my friends working for different stands. I was really happy to be able to try out new games during my work- I think this is my favorite aspect of working as a photographer for Insomnia festivals. Everyone is so friendly and you can enjoy pleasure with work- perfect combo, not to speak of the games going around.DSC_8565 DSC_8579 DSC_8604 DSC_8654 DSC_8657 DSC_8658 DSC_8675DSC_8678 DSC_8686 DSC_8750 DSC_8751 Oh, and check out this lovely Portal Cosplay! Wish I had more time to take photos of the details of the accessories! DSC_8699 During my time at I54 I was able to not only take photos of Oculus Rift but also try it on. It was quite an interesting experience and I can see the idea evolving into the new gaming set-up. I wonder how many years we’ll have to wait until each household is going to have one. DSC_8741 DSC_8692 DSC_8748 Ever since I started my career as a photographer, I have always dreamed of being behind a scene, taking photos of the crowd cheering. I was able to make my dream come through during Insomnia where my task for Friday was to take photos of the Indie Game Challenge. The atmosphere was amazing and I must say, seeing the happiness on the children’s faces made me have the biggest smile. One thing that made me feel nostalgic was to see the generation differences- seven year old children were there to see their favorite gamers, while when I was their age, our games were mostly played outside in the soft grass.DSC_8815 DSC_8816 DSC_8810 DSC_8801 DSC_8761

During I54, the LAN rooms in which I had to roam around each day of the festival, taking photos, became a home to hundreds of gamers. While I was a bit nervous of going around taking photos of the gamers around, I often found myself talking to freshly woken-up teenagers in their onesies and pijamas, having their breakfast in front of their computers, waiting to team-up with their friends and start playing games. Everyone knew everyone and all of the gamers were friendly and sportsmanlike.

DSC_8914DSC_8908 DSC_8904 DSC_8971 DSC_8985 DSC_9011 DSC_9019 DSC_9040 DSC_9005

Leave a Reply

